Technical Committee names final London team; Kiprotich, Kipsiro Opt Out


By Publicity Secretary – Namayo Mawerere

Former Marathon World Champion Stephen Kiprotich and bronze medalist Moses Ndiema Kipsiro have officially opted out of the London 2017 IAAF World Championships in Athletics.

This comes in the wake of the Uganda Athletics Federation (UAF) naming the final Uganda team of 21 athletes to represent the country in the prestigious World event due August 4th – 13th, 2017 in Stratford, London - United Kingdom.

The National team enters camp today (July 24th, 2017) in Kapchorwa for long distance runners under Coach Gordon Ahimbisibwe while the middle distance runners will be handled by Coach Rafael Kasaija in Kampala. 

2013 World Champion Kiprotich and 2007 5000m bronze medalist Kipsiro officially informed the Federation about their decision owing to inadequate preparedness for the championships.

“As a Federation, we applaud their decision and maturity stand in that direction. The World Championships is the biggest athletics event that calls for serious and adequate preparations. They are spot on as role models for the rest of the Ugandan athletes to emulate,” Publicity Secretary Namayo Mawerere said.

Uganda registered a record 27 qualifiers for the World Championships never before in history but selected only 21 runners to represent the country in London owing to IAAF classification (A and B) regulations about entries especially at the 10,000m and marathon. See selected team below.

Final team:


  1. Abu Mayanja -  800m
  2. Ronald Musagala -  1500m
  3. Jacob Araptany – 3000m SC
  4. Boniface Abel Sikowo – 3000m SC
  5. Albert Chemutai – 3000m SC
  6. Stephen Kissa – 5000m
  7. Jacob Kiplimo – 5000m
  8. Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei – 5000m/10000m
  9. Timothy Toroitich – 10,000m
  10. Moses Martin Kurong – 10,000m
  11. Solomon Mutai – Marathon
  12. Robert Chemonges – Marathon
  13. Chesakit Alex – Marathon


  1. Halima Nakaayi – 800m
  2. Winnie Nanyondo – 800m
  3. Docus Ajok – 800m
  4. Esther Chebet – 1500m
  5. Peruth Chemutai – 3000m SC
  6. Mercyline Chelangat – 5000m
  7. Stella Chesang – 5000m
  8. Juliet Chekwel – 10,000m