Weekend Akii Bua Championships: Another Qualifier for London 2017


Ugandan athletes have been granted another chance to qualify for the London 2017 London World Championships when UAF organizes the 19th edition of the Akii Bua Memorial Track and Field Championships on June 4, 2017 at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.

The competition will however take place in the morning starting 9.00am.

The stadium will be open free to spectators to watch the national event to commemorate Akii Bua, the former Olympic 400m hurdles champion.  Uganda’s fallen hero won Uganda the first Olympic gold  medal at the 1972 Munich Olympic Games in German and also became the first man in history to run the 400 meters-hurdles below 48 seconds and setting the acclaimed 47.82 World Record.

Uganda has so far won two gold medals in the prestigious Olympic Games with the latest feat registered in marathon by Stephen Kiprotich at the 2012 London Olympics. The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has set July 23, 2017 as the deadline for athletes worldwide to qualify for the prized World Championships due in August this year.

The youth and junior athletes will also have a daunting task as well to hit the required standards for the  July 18 - 23, 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Nassau, Bahamas and the IAAF World U-18 Youth Championships to take place July 19 - 24, 2017 in Nairobi, Kenya.  

Only eleven athletes have so far hit the required IAAF standards who include five in marathon with Robert Chemonges being the latest entrant.  The 19-year old clocked a winning time of 2:10:31 in German which was within the 2:14:02 London World Championships qualification time.

He joins Peruth Chemutai who clocked 9:27 in women 3000m SC and Chelangat Mercyline with 15:09 in 5000m on track at the Shanghai Diamond League.  Chelangat had earlier qualified when she finished among the top 15 at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships 2017 held at Kololo Independence Grounds, Kampala and Chekwel Juliet 31:32 in 10,000m in Italy

The others who have earned tickets to the World Championships include – Stephen Kiprotich 2:07:31, Alex Chesakit (2:14:02), Mutai Solomon (2:09:59), Jackson Kiprop (2:14) and Moses Kipsiro Ndiema.